Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

[-]
Tags
editing noise out

Editing Out Noise
How hard is it to edit out unwanted voice, when recording a voice over? Is there any special software I can use to remove such unwanted sounds from my recording?
(03-13-2016, 11:02 PM)Jonzz Wrote: How hard is it to edit out unwanted voice, when recording a voice over? Is there any special software I can use to remove such unwanted sounds from my recording?

there's already a tutorial up azure posted from the old site noise reduction does wonders, you may also want to look a gating.

Signing of InkLING ARE YOU A KID OR A SQUID?
What does gating mean exactly? Sorry for sounding like a total newbie, but I`m just really learning all there is to know about voice acting and doing quality voice over work.
(03-13-2016, 11:27 PM)Sandy Wrote: What does gating mean exactly? Sorry for sounding like a total newbie, but I`m just really learning all there is to know about voice acting and doing quality voice over work.

Gating:
http://www.behindthemixer.com/audio-gating-guide/
The idea is to mute the sound entirely when the volume falls below a certain threshold. I doubt that with voice recording there are many circumstances where it will give you very good results, though.
You can do it manually, of course -- muting the pauses between your words, one by one, where background noise is heard -- but this will not help with sounds that are heard over your voice.

Audacity's noise reduction works amazingly well, but can only deal with steady uniform sounds -- white noise from the mic's electronic circuitry, hum from the AC power line, or even ambient sounds like the fan of your computer, if it runs on a constant speed. It will not help you with traffic noise, or barking neighborhood dogs, etc.